The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The author has stated that, if Swift Nutrition is not replaced by another vendor, there would be serious health consequences for the students of Kensington Academy. Although the concern by the parent toward the students' health is understandable, the arguments posed are rife with holes! There are several fallacious points that the author has conveniently assumed.

Firstly, the author has assumed that their son's friends who complained about the food, would represent a majority of the students' decision. Does this mean, that she's giving precedence to tasty food over unhealthy food? It may just be so, that this group of friends doesn't enjoy the food, while the vast majority of the school enjoys it. In that case, if the vendor was replaced, it would result in a larger number of disgruntled students! And at the same time the low-fat, low-calorie meals need not necessarily be insipid and not enjoyable. They may just be tasty, and healthy at the same time, which is probably the best possible combination in food one can receive!

Secondly, the author has also assumed that, if students don't like the food being served, they will resort to unhealthy food instead. How can she claim that the students, bringing food from their homes, would necessarily bring in an unhealthy meal?. If in fact the food was not enjoyable, their parents may provide them with a healthy and enjoyable meal from home instead. This would prove the author wrong, since the health condition at the school would most likely ameliorate, rather than exacerbate!

Additionally, the author has also fallaciously believed that, if the health of the students was truly deteriorating, then a further change in vendors would solve this. There is a chance that the new vendor turns out to be even worse than the current one, resulting in further decline in health conditions of students!

Therefore, in order to make her claim more cogent, she must hand in valid proof that a clear majority of the school does not enjoy the meals served at school, by the current caterer. Additionally, she must also present a few cases where the students resorted to unhealthy food. This would then expedite the switch in cafeteria vendors. Finally she must prove that an incoming vendor would provide better quality food, which is healthy!