The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper provides the argument that in order to make better usage of Oak City limited budget, Oak City should give a vote to only residents. Some points are logically convincing at first glance, but there is defect which affects argument negatively.

The first question should be asked is that how foolish objection came from people who are not living in Oak City. When it comes to foolish objection, specifically, why is it foolish? Does it irrelevant to issue? This type of question should be answered because it is too subjective to say just because non-residents people are not living in a Oak City.

The second question should be asked is that why people who work in Oak City don’t fully understand about politics and businesses. People who work in Oak City but living in elsewhere, are the people who can possibly understand more the issue that Oak City has. Because best way of use budget is always issue in every city, non-residents who works in Oak City would give a suggestion about what other city does. So it could fracture argument. There should a clause that if non-residents who works in Oak City are not interested in Oak City politics, then it would make sense that they wouldn’t fully understand.

Lastly, question should be asked is that how come residents of Oak City would understand money improve city. Not just because residents of Oak City pay their city taxes, it doesn’t means that they would understand more on the politics and businesses. To make sure residents would understand more on this argument, there should be clause that residents of Oak City concern about limited budget and interested in city’s policy. Then only residents vote would be possible to make better place to live and work.

In conclusion, when it comes to these solution to the defect, it will help to make sure that the argument would be more valuable and coherent to be understood.