The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given memorandum, the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants suggests that the company should extend its use of margarine instead of butter to its restaurants in the Southeast and Northeast as well in order to increase profitability. However, the argument is flawed for numerous following reasons, as it relies on unwarranted explicit and implicit assumptions.

Firstly, the author hastily assumes that 98 percent of customers must be happy with their change from butter to margarine simply because they have never explicitly appealed their opinions. However, the author fails to ask whether the 98 percent customers are really happy about the change, or they simply do not express their frustration. If the latter is the case, they may not come back to dine at a Happy Pancake House restaurant, this in turn would be detrimental for the profitability of the company. Thus, the author should find out what customers think about their use of margarine for butter, instead of simply generalizing the opinion of 2 percent of customers.

Secondly, even if the assumption above is somehow guaranteed to be true, the author unreasonably assumes that customers, who were served with margarine when they asked for butter, are either not able to distinguish butter from margarine or simply use the term margarine to indicate butter. However, the author should ask if there is any other possibility. Perhaps, for example, the customers might have not talked to their servers even if they were not happy about receiving margarine. If this is the case, the unsatisfied customers might not come back to the restaurant or not recommend the restaurant to other potential customers. Even worse, they may write a review on the on-line website, which could threat the restaurant’s reputation. Thus, to evaluate the argument adequately, the author should clarify whether or not customers can distinguish butter from margarine as well as they really use the term “butter” to mean margarine.

Lastly, even conceding all the assumptions above somehow turned out to be true, this argument is still dubious in that the author makes false analogy by claiming that the strategy of using margarine instead of butter would work in other regions simply because it worked in Northwestern United States. However, common sense tells us that customers in different area do not necessarily to be the same. Thus, the author should ask what would ensure the success of the strategy in Northwestern lead to the same success in other regions, such as Southeast and Northeast. This can be, for example, people in Northeast and Southeast have similar dining pattern as the people in Southeast, such as they do not distinguish butter from margarine or call margarine as “butter.” Without elucidating the similarities among those markets, which firmly substantiate the same success, this argument would not be cogent.

In sum, the argument is a specious one. Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make cogent case that the Happy Pancake House restaurants should extent their strategy of serving margarine instead of butter in order to increase their profitability.