The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

In order to prevent any further adverse publicity for the radio station and elude losing listener-supporters the business manager recommends shifting emphasis to American folk music. This statement is based on evidence which ought to be carefully questioned in order to give a comprehensive estimation of the soundness of the argument.

To begin with, the radio station in its effort to increase its number of listeners has shifted its emphasis from American folk music to Latino and world music. Many of long-term supporters have complained about the alteration. However, many do not equal all. Perhaps, only a part of these long-term listeners is disappointed with the change; moreover, we do not know how many of these who complained gave money to the station. Perhaps financial support of these lament listeners is only a small percent of all support which is received by the station.

The second evidence which is given to us is that a local newspaper has critiqued the change in the radio station programming. However, this is only one newspaper and perhaps other newspapers loudly cherish the turn in the station programming. Moreover, how big the audience of this newspaper is, probably it is a small number but even if it has a plethora of readers, they may not listen to the station. What is more, perhaps the station translate is signal on a big distance and it has listeners who live in other regions and stated, consequently, the article of local newspaper cannot reach them and thus the newspaper's opinion is harmless for the station’s reputation.

Finally, the arguer claims that in order to prevent any future adverse publicity for the station and to prevent the loss of additional listener-supporters, the station ought to return to its previous programming. However, how will mass-media react on this setback? Probably some newspapers may be disappointed with it. In other words, the proposed recommendation may even lead to a dramatic surge of newspapers' critique of the new alteration. Thus the implementation of author's policy may hurt public appearance of the station. Furthermore, it is said that radio station has changed its content in order to increase the number of listener; perhaps, the alteration has brought thousands of new listeners who donate money to the station. In case, the current trend will be reverted, the likeliness exists that these new supporters may be upset with the return and they may cease their financial support of the station.

In conclusion, the argument claims that in order to stop radio station critique and avoid losing of additional supporters, the station should return to its previous programming; however, the writer does not manage to prove that the change will inevitably lead to expected results.