The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

There are four key pieces of evidence needed in order to evaluate this argument: the trend in number of viewers during the time period where national news had been an increased topic, the trend in overall advertising revenue of the news program for the same period, the total number of complaints over the time the news program has been running, and the content of said complaints.

In the beginning of the argument, the business manager states that "most" viewer complaints concerned coverage of weather and local news. The first piece of evidence needed to support this is the number of complaints and how this has changed over time. If there were ten complaints a week before the show started focusing on national news and three complaints a week after, then the majority of complaints could mean only two complaints a week. If this situation were the case, then the overall number of complaints has declined and it weakens the argument that the program should return more time to weather and local news. If the number of complaints increased overall, this would strengthen the argument.

The manager is also vague as to the message of the complaints. He states that the complaints "concerned [the station's] coverage of weather and local news." He never states what specifically they are complaining about. It is possible the complaints are mostly about weather and local news being on there at all, showing that viewers want it to be all national news. This would weaken the argument that the manager is making. Complaints that there is not enough time devoted to local news and weather would strengthen the argument.

Local businesses cancelling their advertising contracts is another point the manager makes in his argument. It is never said what the trend of ad revenue has been over the period of time that the show had been running. If the revenue has decreased overall due to these cancellations, the manager's argument would be supported. It is possible, however, that larger companies are now advertising during the news show. This would increase the show's overall advertising revenue and weaken the argument that the manager is making.

The final piece of information the manager does not relay was the trend in number of viewers during the show. If there is a negative trend now that local news and weather are not the focus of the program, the argument is stronger. If there is a positive trend, showing that more viewers are interested in national news, the manager's argument is much weaker. If more viewers prefer national news, then the show is most likely making more money than it did when it spent more time on local news and weather.

The argument made was missing four pieces of evidence: number and content of complaints made about the show, overall advertising rvenue trend, and viewer trend. With these key items of evidence, the manager's argument could be made considerably stronger or weakened to being pointless.