The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The assumptions of the business manager of the television station are written in his memo about expanding our coverage of weather and local new in order to attract more audiences and make more profits. The Vice president ignored important information and some questions needed to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted results.

First, base on the fact that local businesses canceled the use advertise during our last night, the author infers that the number of audiences of the television have decreased. However, it is not necessarily the case. The local businesses may find a more effective way for advertising instead of advertising in television such as local newspapers, magazines, or even the internet. Moreover, the high cost of advertising during late-nigh can discourage the local business to use television advertisement. The author can not convince me without ignore the above mentioned-factors in decrease local advertising.

Another serious of problems with this argument arises from the lack of statistical information about complaints. The author mentions most complaints are about the allocating the less time for weather and local news. Nevertheless, it is quite possible the number of these complaints was too low rather that the number audience. In short, since the argument relies on the limited information, I cannot take the author’s final conclusion seriously.

In the third place, the author relies on the assumption that decreasing the audience during the night was due to nation news and less time for weather and local news. Nevertheless, it is entirely possible that a great part of audience was students or employees, who have to go to schools or offices, so changing program cannot effective to attract more audiences. In addition, most people like to go to the night club instead of siting on the sofa and watch the television programs, so decreasing the audiences does not relate the kinds of television program. Without considering these possible scenarios, the author cannot justifiably conclude that nation news decrease the audience of television.

In sum, the argument is flawed rationally and therefor unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide statistical information about the number of complains. In addition, we would need to know about all effective factors in discourage local business to use the television’s advertisements, in order to evaluate better the recommendation.