The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument relies on few assumptions without supporting evidences.

First of all, the argument assumes that the duration of broadcast for weather and local news has decreased. But, did the author make sure that the broadcast is not happening in any other slot of the day? It is probable that the duration of weather and local news coverage has increased in evening news program.

The author next mentions that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with the weather and local news. Though, the author is silent about the nature of the complaints. Did the viewers complain about the duration of the coverage? Were they particular about the weather and local news coverage in the late-night news program? It might well be possible that the viewers were not satisfied with the content of the broadcast. It is very important to know the exact nature of the complaints to arrive at a conclusion.

Local businesses may have cancelled advertising contracts due to some other reason. May be the station's rate for the particular slot is too high or may be the local businesses are not gaining much by advertising in television station. There is no evidence that shows that the local businesses have stopped advertising in the late night slot due to the diminutive coverage of the local news. Also, there is no mention of the advertising revenue figures. It might be possible that the station is earning more revenues from national businesses and their revenue might have actually increased. The revenue figures would be necessary to support or refute the conclusion that the station is losing advertising revenues.

So, to recapitulate, the complete broadcasting schedule is needed to find the time devoted to weather and local news on a daily schedule. The nature of the complaints from viewers is needed. And the revenue figures are also needed.