The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The author has promulgated that reduction in time for showing weather and local news has attributed towards the cancellation of adverising contracts and complaints from the viewers. The author has stated this based on several premises like, cancellation of advertisation contracts, viewer complaints regarding the coverage of weather and local news. However, the author has made several assumptions that undermines the argument.

The author has proclaimed that the advertising contracts associated with the late night news program were cancelled during the time period when more focus was given towards national news. But the author blindly assumes that the advertising agents canceled their contracts because less coverage was given to local and weather news. This may not necessarily be true. The advertising agents may have cancelled their contracts for various other reasons like most people don't like to watch late night news, the content of news channel might be poor or inaccurate resulting in fewer amount of viewers. However if the author can provide proof for his assumptions then the premise can be strengthened.

Also the author also claims that decrease of show time for weather and local news was the reason for the complaints received by the user. This need not be true. The complaints from the viewers can also be relating to the accuracy of content of weather and local news channel and more importantly the sample set of viewers who have posted a complaint need not reflect the entire mindset of all the viewers who watch the news channel. Anyhow if the author is successfull in proving that the mindset of all viwers are simlar through any possible survey then the premise can be supported.

Furthermore the author states that future cancellation of contracts of advertising agency can be avoided. This thought is riddled with flaws because if the author doesnot provide any evidence that advertising agency issued their contracts initially because of the coverage of local and weather news by the channel. Also the author also does not provide any information whether the number of advertising contracts increased when the coverage of weather and local news were higher than the current level. If the author is able to provide evidences like advertising contracts history associated with the news channel for late night news program supporting his belief then the argument can be supported.

Finally if the author is able to provide suitable evidences for all his assumptions that led to his existing premises then the premises can be strengthened and the prime argument made by the author can be bolstered.