The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The given memorandum reflects the attempt of a television news channel to increase its viewership. In the memorandum, the business manager of the television stations, makes a claim that in order to attract more viewers to their late night program and to avoid losing advertising revenues, they must increase the time devoted to weather and local news. The memorandum offers minimal evidence to back this claim and until substantive evidence can be gathered on the issue, the claim remains mere conjecture.

We shall first address the issue of viewership. The claim that more time must be devoted to weather and local news to attract more viewers, is based on the fact that most of the complaints received from viewers during the period quoted in the memorandum, were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. This could mean several things. We must note that memorandum states that "most of the complaints" were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. This does not reflect an increase in the number of complaints regarding weather and local news but rather a increase in the proportion of complaints regarding the issue. This could be due a drop in quality of the weather and local news reporting or due to improved performance of the news channel in other areas. Until more comprehensive data on viewership and viewer complaints is collected, the claim that devoting more time to local and weather news and less to national news would win the news channel more viewers remains unvalidated.

We shall now address the issue of advertising. The claim made in the memorandum is based on the fact that local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night shows have cancelled their contracts. These cancellations can be attributed to several causes. It is possible that these companies are cutting down on advertising expenditure or that they are not performing well and several other reasons. To draw inference regarding the correlation between reduced local and weather news time on the late night show and cancellation of contracts by local businesses, the channel would need to find out from these businesses the cause for terminating their contracts.

Further, it is possible that the news channel is now receiving higher advertising revenues from national businesses owing to the increased time devoted to national news. Thus, the cancellation of contracts by local businesses needn't necessarily translate into lower advertising revenues.

As mentioned above, for the argument to be valid, a lot more evidence must be gathered. Until then, the argument remains unvalidated.