The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument quoted here to the editor of cited aeronautical magazine is unsubstantiated. Recent success of unmanned space-crafts does not necessarily guarantee its consistency nor proves unmanned space flight as deleterious. The author fails to provide astute observations and evidences and hence relies on unhinged assumptions to provide a badly-formed conclusion.

First, even though the author claims that manned space-flight is costly and dangerous, he fails to explicate why and what were his sources of inquiry. One can be certain that while manned space-flights would require most of the funds aimed at sustenance needs, but the same needs, if taken away- like in an unmanned space-flight- it would require those funds to be aimed at technological improvements to make the rover/craft more suitable. The author also doesn't state how manned flights are more dangerous. Did he draw this conclusion from a few accidents that have happened over time? Did he compare old technology to the newer age resources?

Second, the author states that the recent success of space probes and satellites has been illuminating. They appear to have accumulated great deal of useful information without endangering human life. While this may seem a plausible fact, it rescinds the nature of humans to machines. Machines does not have instincts like human do, hence, they are incapable of having insights. Surely men can have insights sitting at a control room, governing these space probes and collect more data without going in the next room but first-hand experiences tend to provide more insights. Insights form when there is a propensity for survival, if there's no fear to govern a system, gathering of requisite information is not possible- especially to a machine.

Lastly, since the author doesn't provide enough material to consume his insights upon the matter, one can simply argue that his views are biased and/or based upon older manned space incidents as terrifying and prone to a high risk of loss as compared to today's more advanced successes. It should be noted that not all space-tourneys require the presence of man. Simple collection of atmospheric data, communications handling are best done by automation.

To sum it all up, the author has espoused the idea that using unmanned space probes it'll be safer for human beings to carry out space explorations. While the author thinks this is a great idea, the argument is an evolved fallacy promoted by wishful thinking rather than substantive facts. However, if the author provides support of as to why manned space-travel is dangerous or why they require more cost, the argument would have a base. Also if the author explained how it is possible for future endeavors to solely be based on unmanned exploration without the insightful nature of machines, it would support his cause more. Above enumerated evidence, would dispel any ambiguity and strengthen his argument. Hitherto, the statement's veracity lies on a balance of probabilities and remains open for debate.