The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memo avers that the best way to improve rgw economic and financial conditions of the town of Hopewell is building a resort hotel and introducing a golf course. The main reason die this argument is based on the assumption that the neighboring town of Ocean View could succeed in increasing tax revenues from the aforementioned policy. However, this assumption is unwarranted and accompanied by some logical fallacies. Therefore, it is not possible to follow the mayor's idea unless more concrete evidence is presented.

To begin with, although the author claims that the growth of the tourism industry and the emergence of new businesses in Ocean View have resulted from the newly built resort hotel and golf course, this opinion is not cogent as the memorandum does not show any clear connection between them. During the previous two years, many changes might happen in addition to the construction of the hotel and building the golf course. For example, new exhibit sites, galleries, theme parks, and museums might be opened. It is also possible that the transportation network around Ocean View has recently developed and that is why more tourists could visit the town compared to the past. Without the scrutiny of such variables, it is not reasonable to confirm that the only reason for the increased tourism is the golf course and the hotel. Similarly, the new businesses might appear because of a myriad of reasons including population growth and newly found natural resources.

Furthermore, the mayor does not clearly reveal the amount of growth in tourism and businesses. Although he states that the revenues have increased by thirty percent, there is no clue that this increase is based on the aforementioned growth in specific fields. It can be supposed that there have been a plethora of other factors. For instance, the municipal government might raise taxes or the residents were inclined to consume more as their income level has been higher. Thus, it is unclear if the tax revenues have increased because of the tourism industry and newly founded businesses. In this situation, even if it can be proved that the golf course and the hotel are related to tourism and businesses, it cannot be said that they are associated with the additional tax revenues.

Besides, even if it appears true that Ocean View could have more tax revenues and the growth of tourism and businesses thanks to the golf course and the resort hotel, the same strategy does not guarantee the same result. The success of Ocean View seems to be related to other important factors as well. For example, the majority of the inhabitants of the town or nearby areas may enjoy golf as their main leisure activity. It should be also considered that Ocean View has a lot of spaces that allow the construction of large facilities such as the resort hotel. There is no evidence that Hopewell has the same conditions. Hence, the mere application of the successful policy of another town would not result in the same level of success.

Finally, it should be also noted that the new change in Ocean View happened two years ago. Therefore, the present circumstance is not the same. It is possible that the composition of the dwㄷellers of Hopewell have changed during two years and their preferences and income levels can be part of these changes. In this situation, even if other conditions of Hopewell were similar to Ocean View, the same consequence cannot be expected in the present time.

In conclusion, the mayor's argument is not cogent unless he presents more concrete data to support his main argument.