The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books."We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

In the preceeding argument, the author claims that Monarch Books should substitute children's book section for a cafe, adducing the enduring popularity of the book store and an expected drop in the population of children. At first glance, the recommendation seems to be plausible; however, a closer scrutiny sheds light on a plethora of unanswered questions, which could dampen the valuation of this policy.

To begin with, the author believes that cafe would be welcomed by customers. It is not clear, nonetheless, what the real preferences of customers are. The author mentioned the enduring popularity of Monarch in the past twenty years thanks to its wide range of book selections. This does not logically lead to the notion that a cafe would be attractive. For instance, if most customers just buy the book they want and leave without spending too much time in the store, then the cafe would be useless. To answer this question and many others alike with confidence, a thorough study on the customers\' demanding is necessary.

In addition, even if a cafe would be an attraction to customers, it is still problematic for the Board of Directors to sacrifice children's book section in exchange for the cafe. Although recent demographic study predicted a smaller population of children younger than ten years old, it does not suggest that children's book are not selling well. Arguably, it is possible that with the development of economy, parents are willing to invest more money in their children's education, making children related books even more popular despite a diminished reader group. Therefore, Monarch should closely monitor the sale of children's book, in order to gather concrete evidenve for decision making.

Last but not least, it is too reckless to draw the conclusion that having a cafe as Regal Books can make Monarch more competitive against its rivalry. This might be true given that cafe is really popular among readers. But again, the evidence proffered in the argument does not substantiate the author's stand. Simply following other book stores is risky, since we do not know whether the model is successful at all. What is more, it is not impossible that local community does not need another book store with a cafe because the market has already saturated. Were the Monarch to win more customers, the directors would need to investigate the market and the tastes of customers, finding its unique niche in the market.

In sum, while the Board of Directors of Monarch Books ought to update the service at store to attract more customers, their recommendation is rife with wholes. Without considering all the relevant aspects, the reform could be devastating for the business of Monarch.