The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health

Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly

reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby

East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or

twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish

can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for

absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a

nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and

lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate

the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The following argument is flawed for number of reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that less number of visit to doctors’ account for less cold. In addition, it falsely establishes a relationship that consuming high amount of fish prevents cold and ultimately less people will take leave, rendering it’s main conclusion that people in West Meria should include a supplement derived from fish oil to prevent cold and lower absenteeism in schools and workplaces, invalid.

The argument fails to provide justification that less number of patients visiting doctors accounts for less occurrences of cold. The report considers the case of East Meria where number of people visiting doctor for treatment of cold is significantly low. And, falsely establishes a relationship that high consumption of fish accounts for less cold. It may be the case that as there are various home-grown treatments for cold and/or due to high fees of doctors, the people of East Meria don’t visit doctors and cure themselves at home. Even if that’s not the case, one cannot say that consuming fish is the sole factor to prevent cold. The report needs to support the argument by citing a credible research that proves that high fish consumption prevents cold.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions. People of West Meria may have deliberately reported cold as reason for being absent at schools and workplaces to get an extra leave. The health council should’ve collected doctor’s receipt of absentees from schools and workplaces, if absentees have provided that in first place, and check its validity before coming to the conclusion.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that fish oil provides same curing capabilities as fish itself. And ichthaid which is derived from fish oil is perfect replacement for fish. A thorough scientific research is required to prove this statement.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make convincing case that to lower absenteeism and prevent cold, people in West Meria should include ichthaid in their daily meals.