THE FOLLOWING IS THE SPEECH BY THE PRESIDENT OF BEST CHARITY CLUB TO HER CLUB MEMBERS.

"THREE MONTHS AGO, THE CHARITY FOR YOUTH CLUB HELD A BAKE SALE AT THE ANNUAL FOURTH OF JULY BASH IN TOWN. THEY RAISED OVER

$2,000. OUR CLUB BUDGET CURRENTLY HAS A DEFICIT OF $1,000, AND WE HAVE SOME PENDING PURCHASES AND CONTRIBUTIONS WHICH TOTAL OVER

$1,OOO. THIS BRING OUR MONETARY NEEDS TO $2,000. WE SHOULD HOLD A BAKE SALE AT THE ANNUAL CHRISMTMAS PARTY AT

THE CIVIC CENTER IN ORDER TO THE FUNDS WE NEED TO COVER THESE COSTS."

Considered true in many proven cases; a charity programme has often lived up to its target of collecting good funds for

the given purpose. Recently, the president of Best charity club has given a speech to her club members stating they ought

to hold a bake sale at the auspicious occasion of the annual christmas at the civic center to collect the fund to

cover their cost which is mainly based on the fact that youth club did a similar charity program and were able to collect

the fund. But her assumption is full of fallacies as she fails to consider many other prevailing factors and the premise

is not complete to support her assumptions and to get to her conclusions of surety of collection of funds.

She assumes that they can duplicate the results of the youth club. However, the concern of people towards charity for

various reasons may not be same. Neither it is clearly stated about the motive of their charity program, nor the process.

They might have conducted the program on some moving motives as in case of Anti-cancer issues, child-care issues.

This kind of motives touches several people and may influence to reach to the wallets. The same cannot be expected for

political issues as people tend to be biased or cynic towards politics.

More so, the president assumes that the christmas would be the good time, but simply fails to consider christmas is not same as the fourth of july as in christmas people may have more need of money for themselves to decorate houses, celebrate the festival and may not be willing to spend towards the charity. Similarly for the place , there is a certain amount of fallacy in assumptions of the civic center would be profitable for charity while no clear evidence is seen on the statement

about which part of the civic the other party used. The president again overlooked the minor details and the fact that selection of the place or the part has a lot to do with the collection ; if the charity programmes is conducted on more crowded places, obviously more people will interact and more chances of collection as compared to less crowded place.

In addition to the place and time factor, one other major false assumption seems to be in the case of profit margin:

she is so sure of the profits that she even didn't think of considering the costs that will incur during the making of

bakes. There is no certain proofs that all the bakes will be sold and forget the profits but the cost might be retained.

Though charity programme annually raises a lot of funds for various charitable and humane causes, often more in special

occasions but the statement of the president seems overly ambitious and unreachable as it is full of number of fallacies

and consideration which have no guarantee to uphold and totally dependent on what others did. She seems to simply copy

it without thorough examination. But again, charity programme has a been major fund raiser since some time and if used

intellectually can provide some good funds.