The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the author's view that the best way to increase the the number of attendance in Super Scree-produces movies is allocating greater share more budget for advertising. However, the author's argument suffers from fundamental weaknesses leading to make a fallacious conclusion.

First of all, the author mentioned that according to a recent report Super Scree movies had fewer audience during the past year, yet having more percentage of positive reviews. However, there is no mention of what was the basis of that reports and who did the repoters ask? For example, the report may be gathered in a cities with less inhabitants or cities that people do not like Suer Screen movies. So the author should answer the question that what cities and countries was the report based on? Furthermore, we cannot accept the authors/report claim, " more positive reviews" because there are no information about the way that they have collect viewers' opinions and reviews. For instance, what if they only ask people whom are happy after the movie? Maybe most of the poeple left the movei theatre and movie in the middle of the movie due to their dissatisfaction, so does this report include their opinions? Without answering these qeustions we cannot accept that the report pefectly shows the societie's and people's opinion about Super Scree movies.

Secondly, even if the report was not fallacious, we cannot conclude that it was due to the public awareness. Author has not mentioned of the time playing the movie, and there is no information that why poeple did not attend the Super Screen-produced movies. Maybe the time of showing the movie was in the middle of the week and at an inappropirate time, or maybe the price of the movie was too high so not many poeple could afford that. Therefore, without having any information about why poeple did not attend the movie we cannot fully verify the argument that it was due to the poeple's unawareness. Author should provide some information and statistics that what percentage of people who did not attend the movie did not know about it.

In order to fully evaluate this article, we would also need to learn more about the previous year's adviertisments. Author concluded that Super Screen should allocate a greater budget for their advertisement based on an unstated assumption that last year's advertisement was not enough. However, advertisement may not have a good quality, or it my be on bilboards that not so many poeple would see. So, the author should answer the question that How much they have spent on advertisement last year and how many people had seen their advertisement? Was the advertisement only bilboard advertisement? Or the advertised the movie using TV commercials. Maybe the did not advertised Super Screen movies efficiently and using the same amount of budget they could expoit better and more reachable advertisement, attracting more audiences.

To recapitulate, despite the argument suffers from several problems and is unconvincing, we cannot absolutely rely on it or refuse it without perusing any additional assumptions and reasoning. The author can strengthen his assertion by Asnwering to the the mentioned questions. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.