The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie recommends that they should allocate a greater share of its budget in advertising. In support of this conjecture, a report is stated about the number of people attending movies produced by them, and positive reviews regarding their movies. However, the argument depends on three unwarranted assumptions which, if not substantiated, significantly reduce its persuasiveness.

Firstly, is the report credible? The report is from the marketing department about the past year that less people attended movies produced by them (Super-Screen). There are no empirical data or statistics about the report. The report said less people, which can have divergent meaning. There may have been 2000 people watching their movies two years ago, but in the past year there was 1999 people watched their movies. Now a decrease of one people do not have significant affect on the overall profit. Was the report based on a single country ,or a single state ,or the whole world? There is no specifications about these too. If the report was based on a single state, it is plausible that that single state has substantial reduction of people watching Super-Screen movies, whereas viewers from the other states increased sufficiently to offset or even increase the number of viewers. If any of these are true, the argument loses its credibility.

Secondly, are the positive reviews about the movies statistically strong enough ? The author mentioned that percentage of positive reviews about their produced movies increased. The percentage has ambigous meaning, as there are even possibilites that the number of positive reviews in reality has decreased. There may have been 100 reviews last year where 60 percent were positive reviews, which gives us 60 people. In this year, there were only 10 reviews overall, and 9 of them were positive. Now, 60 positive reviews are far greater than 9 positive reviews. That is why, percentage should not be taken as granted. The percentage statement needs more evidence to back it up. Then, even if the number of reviews has increased, there might lie another reason. Maybe the reviewers are not good enough, maybe the reviewers that people trust more gave a negative review. If any of these true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, why is it assumed that the quality of the movies is great? This might be a primary reason for people not going to Super-Screen movies as their quality has plummeted in the last year. It is not wise to assume that there is not fault in the quality of their movies. Another assumption is the survey is about last year. In this year, there may have increase in viewers of their movies regardless of any changes. Maybe there was a economical crisis or a pandemic, because of that the number of people attending their movies decreased.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, has several unwarranted assumptions. These assumptions and questions have to answered by the author and provide sufficent additional evidences to back them up, then it will be feasible to fully evaluate the merit of the argument.