"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the conclusion in the memo from the advertising director to allocate a more money for advertising sounds appealing, it stands on a flimsy base. Several questions need to be analysed to efficiently evaluate the arguement before implementing the decision.

The cardinal question which needs to be evaluated is whether the report from the marketing department has the correct claims. It may be possible that the report this year was based on only a particular geographical location. Thus, even if the number of people attenting reduced in that area, it might have increased in other areas, resulting in an overall increase in the number of people attending super screen produced movies.

It is also necessary to determine the relation between nature of movies and the number of people attending. It is highly plausible that the number of positive reviews increased beacuse the type of movies produced changed. The new type of movies, though highly insightful, may not have been understood by the laity, thus reducing the number of people. In this case, increasing the budget on advertising will fail to yield the desired results.

Another question to be taken into consideration is whether the marketing strategy changed during the past year. If it remained the same, the great reduction in the number of people during past year is not because the public is not aware that good movies are available. There might be some chnage in the movies that caused the reduction, or the public might have started preferring other productions. It is also possible that they might have gotten bored of the movies by super screen.

Finally, it is unknown if the good quality movies are unique to super screen production. here might be other production companies producing similar or even better quality movies at a cheaper cost. Thus, people might prefer watching movies at a cheaper rate. If this is true, super screen should focus on prodcing movies at low cost rather than allocating greater share of budget for marketing.

Hence, a myriad of questions need to be taken into account which can change the nature of the arguement. If the above mentioned questions weaken the arguement, the intended results will be be obatined.