"The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability. "

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument's conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

While it may be true that the internet advertising company's help would have increased the furniture depot's sales in the last year but the author's argument is rife with holes and assumptions. The goal of the depot was to increase their profitability of the business. The evidence provided by the advertising business is the increase in the number of sales of the company.

In order to strengthen the argument, the author must stipulate the proper reasoning for the increase in the total sales of the furniture depot. What was the particular reason for the sales to rise? To prove this, the author may back statement with norm surveys and accurate figures, if possible. The lucidity of the declared assumption would only be possible and considered true by other businesses if correct claims and reasoning be provided. Perhaps, the author could quote a fellow furniture depot employer or employee on their success pertaining to the advertising company's efforts to make it popular.

Moreover, the argument asserts, perhaps allegedly, that the sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Even though the author might be correct with the figure but one can question that what if the whole 10 percent was on a fixed amount of products that were sold last year. What if the increase was because of the higher revenue of a particular department in the furniture business, for example, the growth of the managerial department would have hired better and highly skilled employees who would have made finely finished products. Absence of proven evidence of the assumed contribution of the advertising company, in a way, weakens the argument.

Additionally, a very important question that can be certainly posed would be: What were the exact incidences and things that ameliorated the furniture depot's success? There could be a new product /furniture manufactured by the depot last year which increased the sales of the business. The depot might have focused on increasing the quality of the furniture from what it used to produce the years before. It is not necessary that the advertising company's "help" was the only window they had to increased sales.

In conclusion, the author of the argument might have reasonable evidence in order to support the efforts of the internet advertising company but more lucid and proven points and facts would be requisite in order for other businesses to believe that in the internet company.