The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe. "Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, we predict that our new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument of developers in support of the profitablity of their music club is based on their assessment of the popularity of the jazz music in the city of Monroe. The instances given in support of the popularity includes: a summer jazz festival in Monroe which was attended by 100,000 people last year; the top rated radio program being on jazz; and the presence of homes of jazz musicians in the city. But the conclusions derived from the presence of these instances are riddled with assumptions, which lead to questions which, if not answered, put the evaluation in a serious position of doubt. Some of these assumptions are: that the 100,000 people were from the Monroe itself; that there is no other cause for the presence of jazz owner's homes in the city other than the popularity of the jazz in the city itself; and that the $1,000 per year statistic which is based on a national study, is a good estimate for Monroe city too.

It is concluded from the presence of 100,000 people in the jazz festival in the city that the people of Monroe are big fan of jazz. But in reality it could be that most of the people who attended the festivals were aliens. In which case, it needs to be answered whether there were significant amount of people in the festival from the Monroe city itself.

It is cited as the reason that since there are many homes in Monroe belonging to the jazz musicians, the music is popular in the city. But it could be the case that some other factor is attracting the musicians to own homes in the city, such as economical homes, or presence of music production industry nearby, etc. The influence of such factors undemines the argument of resultant popularity.

It is not apparant from the argument that $1,000 spending capability of the fans per year is a profitable number for the club. After correctly estimating the number of prospective fans attending the club, the number should be ensured to be enough for generating desriable profit. More importantly, the number given here is based on the national study. This implies that there could be a variation -- even significant one -- in the number for the Monroe city only. The consequence of invalidity of the number for Monroe would mean failure of the argument in favour of prfitability of the jazz club.

Another subtle assumption is based on the distance of the nearest existing jazz club. It should be questioned whether the one hour drive is really something which a jazz fan takes into account while choosing a place to listen jazz music at. It may happen that a music fan may choose an existing club over a new club, not priroitizing the one hour drive, which happens when the time is not a pressing matter. Thus, the study of such a behavior among jazz fans should be studied.