Government funding for pure science endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to
direct more funding towards humanitarian science projects.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In
developing and supporting your position, be sure to consider specific instances for which this statement
may or may not be true.
The author claims that humanitarian science projects should be prioritized over pure science
projects, to the point of redirecting funding from pure science to humanitarian science. There are perhaps
some instances in which this would be judicious, but in the absence of any discussion of the goals for such
funding and the possible benefits to be obtained, such a black-and-white policy is likely too simplistic.
Further, the author appears to assume that this is a zero-sum game: that such funding must go to one or the
other and that the same amount of funding will be “worth more” by some (unspecified) measure if spent on
humanitarian projects.
It would be helpful to examine specific cases in order to make this abstract argument a bit more
concrete. “Humanitarian” is a broad term, but let’s assume that the author is referring to projects that will
provide healthcare or education to communities currently lacking such services in some significant way.
(The term humanitarian could, of course, refer to many other types of research, community outreach
programs, and so on — but we’re trying to discuss one tangible example.) Vaccinating children against
smallpox and measles is an obviously high-priority task: the technology exists, it is not prohibitively
expensive, and it will both save lives and improve quality of life immeasurably. In any prioritization of
funds, this particular usage must be near the top.
It is also the case, though, that many technologies originally developed during space exploration
projects are now used in mission-critical “humanitarian” arenas. For instance, remote monitoring of vital
statistics (such as heart rate and blood pressure) via miniature devices that can be affixed to or implanted
in the body — or even swallowed! — allows us to monitor someone’s health when that person is not
physically in a healthcare setting. Other miniature remote-controlled devices (robots, if you will) are used
in surgical settings to minimize the invasiveness of the procedure, or even to perform a maneuver that is
impossible with traditional surgery. Satellite networks allows us to monitor weather patterns and broadcast
information about the approaching hurricane immediately, potentially saving tens of thousands of lives.
Further, it isn’t necessarily sufficient to look at the goals and expected benefits in the short-term.
When NASA scientists were developing ways to monitor the health and manage the treatment of astronauts
from afar, they likely weren’t anticipating the myriad ways in which the technology would ultimately be
used “on Earth.” Early photovoltaic technology was developed almost exclusively in space because access
to the sun’s rays was free and easy. Decades later, solar cells are a leading source of terrestrial “clean”
energy and one of the leading candidates to replace fossil fuel energy should we one day find ourselves in
the position of running out of Earth-based energy sources.
Any approach, then, that paints all “humanitarian” projects with one broad stroke (“worthwhile”) and
“pure science” projects with another (“less important”) is too crude an approach to make such very
nuanced decisions. Given limited funds, of course priorities will have to be determined and a tough balance
struck. History demonstrates convincingly, however, that what begins as a “pure science” project might
one day prove to be a “humanitarian” effort that can affect the lives of every person on the planet.