An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Genetically modified crops are one of the most socially impactful innovations of the modern agricultural science. GMO (Genetically Modified Organism) crops have solved problems of drought susceptibility, low pest resistence and poor yields present in the unmodified, naturally existing plant species. GMO crops are also proving to be useful in specific regions which are found to be deficient in a particular nutrient by engineering a GMO breed, often of the staple food,rich in the deficient nutrient.

However, the efficacy of the GMO breed depends upon quite a few factors. Firstly, whether the human body is able to absorb the enhanced nutritional content from GMO species or not. It has been often seen that the body does not absorb the fortified elments like Iron, Copper, etc., from fortified floors which add these elements externally. So, before one gets down to developing such a species, it should be ensured that the additional nutrient is indeed absorbed by the body rather than getting rejected by the digestive system.

The impact of the GMO species on the soil also needs to be considered. The new crop would surely absorb additional minerals from the soil to become rich in Vitamin A. A question arises about the sustainability of the new plant in the existing soil ecosystem and whether the crop would require the use of a fertilizer. If it needs a fertilizer, the effect of the fertilizer upon the nearby water bodies, where it may reach by getting washed off from the field, also needs to be taken into account.

In the end, the affordability of the new crop as compared to the naturally existing variety is also a cause of concern. Since the new breed is expensive than the earlier one, the cost paid by the farmer would ultimately trickle down to the consumers and determine its consumption. Hence, the mechanism to subsidize the cost of new seeds needs to be long lasting. Otherwise, a separate scheme needs to be figured out so that the witdrawl of subsidies doesn't decrease the consumption of the new breed and achieves the expected result of eradicating Vitamin A deficiency.