An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states an international development organization has developed a new breed of millet which is high in Vitamin A which will help to combat the Vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus. Here, the author assumes that majority of people of Tagus must have Vitamin A deficiency as it is a impoverished nation. So the first question to be answered is 'Do the people of Tagus have Vitamin A deficiency?'

The author even suggests that the white seeds of millet cost more so government should provide more subsidies and encourage the farmers to cultivate new variety of crops. The assumption over here is that there is plenty of suitable land and soil for cultivation of this new variety and even the climate is suitable. But the question arises, 'Does the nation have abundant land to farm these new crops with the suitable soil and climate conditions required for it?'

It is said that millet consists Vitamin A in higher amount and will help in combating the Vitamin A deficiency in the people of Tagus. 'But is it suitable to consume in higher proportions or will there be any side effects due to over consumption of it?' There might be some other constituents in it which might be harmful for a human's health and undermines the author's point.

Even if the government somehow manages to produce millet in a substantiate quantity, will the people of Tagus like this new variety of food? Will the market cost of the food be affordable to each and every person of Tagus? These are necessary questions that need to be considered.

It is stated that since millet is a staple food, people will readily accept it. Here it is assumed that the people of Tagus like eating staple food. So, do people like staple food?