An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The piece of information is interesting, but nonetheless not very convincing. The author needs to answer several questions before claiming that promoting this new type of millet is enough to combat the Vitamin A deficiency.

First, what is the amount of Vitamin A in this new type of millet? is this enough to combat the deficiency? Also, other alternatives should be considered. What are the other sources of Vitamin A? Are the other sources compared with this millet? The author uses the word 'high' in describing the Vitamin A quantity in this new millet and not the word 'highest'. Thus, is there any other source which has more amount of Vitamin A than this new type of millet?

Considering that this new type of millet is indeed the best of all the sources of Vitamin A, How many seeds are available of this new type of millet? What is the amount of subsidy provided to an individual farmer? Will the amount of millet obtained from farms after providing subsidies enough to feed the entire population?

The author says that millet is a staple food in Tagus but further evidence is required to bolster the author's claim.

For how many people is millet a staple food in Tagus? This will give us an exact idea whether people will adopt it.

The author finally claims that the government should take diligent efforts in the promotion of this new type of millet. Is promotion of millet the only possible solution for the government? If the author would have mentioned the other potential Vitamin A sources and how millet is better than those sources then his recommendation would be more cogent.