An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that the government of Tagus ought to focus more on promoting the new breed of millet, this author's argument does not make a cogent case with the necessity of millet breeding among farmers of Tagus.It is easy to understand why the international development organization would want a free vitamin A deficient nation but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus, not strong enough to convince farmers to grow the crop.

Citing surveys among the people, the international organization claims vitamin A deficiency among people of Tagus.It is not clear however the scope and validity of the information the author has.For example, the organization may have asked two residents of Tagus and found the families deficient of vitamin A or may have found that each family has at most one or two members containing deficiency.We just do not know. It is also possible that many old people might be deficient of vitamin A and the youth and middle aged population might have enough content of this vitamin but have not been checked by the organization officials.

Additionally,the author implies that millet is already a staple food in Tagus. Despite this, growing more millet ,yet a little different can result in depreciation of revenue of the nation as the farmers would have to eliminate other crops that they have been growing in order to make place for this on one's fields. Also, this new millet will only be sold in Tagus and might not make much profit as the nation would in international crop and food market.

However, the author does state that farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet which may result in maintaining the farmers profit and income as before. But, if the subsidies are more profitable than the previous incomes of farmers, Tagus could suffer a great loss in the international market and may loose its position in the economy.

A healthy nation would yield to a better future for itself and if the new crops could be used in the international market,Tagus could advantage its revenue and position in the world.Although, this author's argument does not likely support and persuade the Tagus government to make efforts to promote this new type of millet ampng the nation's farmers.