An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The argument above claims that the Government of Tagus could counter the problem of deficiency in Vitamin A through new variety of millets. The argument further claims that these new crops can be readily adoptable by people and the government should fully endorse this crop. However certain claims on which the argument is based may not be true in all situations.

The argument states that an international organization has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. It states that in spite of the high cost of this new brand of millets, the farmers will be paid subsidies for adopting these new millets. While it seems convincing immediately, it may still not persuade farmers to adopt this variety. For one, it is not stated on how long these subsidies will be made available. It is possible that these subsidies are being allowed only for a very short time. Given this scenario, many farmers may not choose to switch to this variety in the long term. They may switch back to the older variety once the subsidy expires. Other possible scenarios are if there could be a need to a change in the farming techniques involved in farming this new variety of millets. Farmers may not be ready to accept this new crop as the initial cost in adopting these techniques could be pretty high. Hence, without the above considerations it is less likely that the farmers would readily start farming the new variety of millets.

The arguments further assumes that people will readily adopt to this new variety as millet is their staple food. Several factors may be involved in peoples choice for millet as their staple food. If the new variety doesn't taste better or happens to be very expensive, people may not readily adopt to this variety. It is possible however that may people may still prefer this just because of the health reasons. But in order to do so, the government must ensure that the importance of vitamin A is clearly demonstrated to the people. Without the above considerations there is little reason to the claim on why people would readily adopt to the new variety.

The author finally states that the government of Tagus must endorse the new variety of millets in order to counter the vitamin A deficiency. However, there is little evidence on why this should be the only way. Government fundings are typically limited and it may limit them in pursuing multiple strategies to counter a problem. In doing so, a reasonable way would be to consider all possible solutions to the problem and choosing the most effective and an economical one. It is possible that there other simpler ways, such as vitamin A supplements that when distributed through health clinics could produce a far more desirous result than the above one. It would be difficult to conclude without elucidating on the efficacy of the millet strategy over other possible strategies.

As stated above, without further analysis on each of the above claims stated, the argument is far from being persuasive.