In a laboratory study of two different industrial cleansers, CleanAll was found to remove 40% more dirt

and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study showed that employees

working at buildings cleaned with CleanAll used far fewer sick days than employees working in buildings

cleaned with other cleansers. Therefore, to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll as

their industrial cleanser.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to

explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if

the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that usage of CleanAll will enhance a healthy workforce by cutting the chance of getting ill at work. Even though it is the case that CleanAll has its merit the argument fails to state it convincingly and is ripe with holes and assumptions.

The primary claim put forth by the author is the result of a laboratory study, which showed CleanAll was found to be relatively more effective than the next best cleaner. The assumption from this is that CleanAll has an impressive performance. The data is presented in percentages and vague terms. How was the 'next best cleaner' decided? Were all the cleaners available studied? The percentages can be highly misleading. If the anonymous next best was too poor in its performance then the fancy percentage numbers convey nothing more than exaggerated marketing strategy. If the assumption that all cleaners were subjected to the study and that CleanAll delivers sufficient performance are proved to be false the whole argument will fall apart. Along with that there is the assumption that the test conditions created in the laboratory faithfully represented the real world situation. It can be doubted that the anonymous laboratory set the test settings in favour of the CleanAll.

The most important assumption around which the author makes his claim is that the employees working in the buildings cleansed with CleanAll is less likely to become sick from the work environment, which he projects as the verification of the laboratory study in the real world. In drawing such a conclusion, from the observation that a study showed the workers in offices using CleanAll used fewer sick leaves, he makes a big leap in the logic. Underlying unstated assumption is that the workers at the offices not using CleanAll contacted illness from their workplace. The residence of the workers, the commute they daily make, the foods they consume are all significant factors to be examined, before ruling them out as the reason behind the disparity. Another unstated assumption is that the location of the buildings did not make a difference. Clearly a company situated in unhygienic neighbourhood has high risk of making employees sick. Also it is assumed that the workers in different companies were involved in same type of jobs. Those who, for example, are involved in chemical processing will be more exposed to conditions that could make them sick than are the desk workers. Because of all the above stated assumptions it is quite invalid to assume that the workers getting sick can be related to the efficacy of the cleaner used in the office.

In conclusion the author fails to make a convincing argument, which will persuade companies to use CleanAll at their establishments. The merits of the CleanAll, tried to establish by the argument, falls under doubt as the assumptions underlying often brakes the train of logic and take big leaps. As a result, it is highly unlikely that companies will start using CleanAll at their premises.