Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in area where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The author claims that many lives can be saved if the inoculations against cow flu were given at regular basis. How many lives can be saved? Author fails to specify how widespread is the disease? It is possible that only 1 person in 1000s gets this disease. Moreover he says that the vaccination might save the person suffering from the disease but does not guarantee it.

Secondly, author fails to mention how deadly is the disease? Does it really require the vaccination to be administered? Is the disease curable once it is contacted? If the disease is not so deadly and life threatening, vaccination can be avoided. There are diseases such as bacterial throat infections, which does not require administration of a vaccine even if the vaccine can be developed. Again if the disease is curable once a person gets it, the use of vaccination is not crucial.

Then, the author does not specify how the disease spreads? If it is contagious or not? If not then the risk is relatively less and those who are infected by it can be safely treated without the risk of spreading the disease. If it is contagious but still easily curable, infected person can be kept in isolation and can be treated.

Lastly there is no information about, how small is the possibility that a person will die due to the inoculation? Is it insignificant enough to be neglected? Suppose if only 1 person in 10000s die due to this vaccine, and the disease is deadly, this risk can be taken.

There is insufficient information and no statistical data is available to draw inferences. Hence to determine the validity of the argument the author puts, more data is required.