Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The author has suggested that we cannot permit the routine inoculations against cow flu, since there is a "small possibility" that a person might die as a result. This suggests that the author is clearly forgetting the bigger picture, that is, the "many lives" which might be saved by the inoculations!

One of the major assumptions that the author has followed is that, the inoculation, although characterized with only a small possibility of debilitating the patient, is still capable of killing all the patients being administered

Firstly, the author has completely abandoned the plan of saving "many lives", due to the fact that there is a "small possibility" that the person might die. The fact that the possibility is small would suggest that more often than not, the administration of the inoculation would be effective, and possibly save several lives. What might strengthen the the author's stance would be if, studies proved there was a higher chance of dying from the inoculation. Only then does it make sense to abandon the plan of saving these lives.

Although, another factor which might strengthen the author's argument would be that, if another newly discovered vaccine was released which had close to 'zero' chances of causing death to the person being administered. In this case, we would obviously opt for the new vaccine and abandon the old inoculation as suggested by the author.

The given argument is not cogent, and thus may not be accepted by the public. Hence, the author must convey the true potency of this inoculation, else, provide us with an alternate solution. Only then can he convince us, that pulling out from the plan of "routine administration", was the right decision.