Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

When discussing the need to inoculation different populations, many other factors must be weighed. One such factor is overall safety, both of the vaccine and the disease itself. Additionally, scientists must speak on the necessity of the vaccine. Before a determination is made regarding the course of action, it is important to know more about the populations that are effected, namely those at risk of dying due to the vaccine. While it is easier to caution against the administration of preventative measures, more information is needed to make an informed decision.

Because the primary goal is to increase overall survival of a population, elaboration on safety is imperative. While very few individuals would wish to get sick, the mortality of cow flu is important to this debate, especially when compared to the mortality of the vaccine. As a society, we must proceed with whatever action will have the least mortality. If the disease has a higher mortality rate than the inoculation, then administering preventative shots would prove to be the safer option. However if the opposite proved true, and the prophylaxis caused more deaths than the illness, then it would be wise to avoid administration. These facts must be debated in order to make an informed decision regarding inoculation legislature.

When weighing the pros and cons to the argument, the necessity of the shots must also be determined. Due to the slight mortality rates triggered by vaccination, it may be possible to avoid this action in favor of less risky preventative measures. For example, signs indicating the presence of the virus at fault could be posted with tips on how to avoid contracting the illness, like frequent hand washing. If no such measures exist that would lessen the likelihood of contracting the malady, then we must also determine if there are changes that could be made to the vaccine to limit the mortality whilst simultaneously maintaining the protection conveyed. By lessening the deleterious side-effects of the vaccine without impacting the coverage, the mortality of the flu could surpass that of the prevention and routine administration should be implemented. Without knowing how necessary the vaccine is in prevention of the disease, an informed decision could not be made.

Additionally, the population that is succumbing to the vaccine is also of the utmost importance. Should that demographic include a high proportion of children or elderly individuals or persons with weakened immune systems, this subset could be exempted from the vaccination schedule. The herd immunity conveyed by healthier individuals could be sufficient in their protection. However, if there is no correlation to those killed by administration of the shot, then there is no way to circumvent the deaths brought about by this action. In order to make a statement regarding the safety of preventative measures, more knowledge is needed regarding those negatively impacted.

Vaccine safety is one of the most prevalent issues that plagues the nation today. When determining whether to add another inoculation to the routine or not, it is imperative to discuss all of the possible ramifications. For this to happen, the safety of the population, necessity of the preventative measure, and the demographic of individuals negatively impacted must be illustrated. While some may consider omitting the shot from the roster to be the most responsible course of action, discussing all of the facts poses the greatest benefit to every society.