Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of the article avers that consuming dairy products increase the possibility of osteoporosis, the illness related to the condition of bones, contrary to the common belief that dairy products are helpful for preventing that disease. Although the author presents some evidence to support this idea, his argument is based on logical fallacies or unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, it is not possible to follow his opinion without the scrutiny of the evidence he mentions.

To begin with, the research quoted by the writer does not clearly reveal the exact figures. First of all, while the article states that a large number of participants were involved in the experiment, the exact amount of these people is not mentioned. Thus, it is probable that the number of particiapnts is not enough to validate the result. Similarly, the profiles of the participants that can decisively influence on the experiment are not clarified. As the author himself remarks, osteoporosis is usually found among the elders. Therefore, if the majority of the participating individuals are aged, they would be prone osteoporosis and its development regardless of their consumption of dairy products.

Furthermore, the author does not mention other variables that are significantly related to the research result. Firstly, as the writer states, osteoporosis is associated with genetic factors. However, the examination of genetic factors of the participants are not revealed in the research data. If many of these people have specific genetic conditions that are vulnerable to osteoporsis, the research study cannot be used as evidence to affirm the negative effects of dairy products on the aforementioned disease. In the same way, other variables are also important to decide if the test result is soley influenced by dairy products. For example, it should be mentioned if the participants have consumed other materials on a daily basis and if they have done specific activities, such as exercising. Unless it is confirmed that all those conditions were controlled, the research result cannot evade doubts.

Besides, it should be also noted that bone fractures cannot directly be linked to osteoporosis. Although it can be one symptom of the disease, it is not reasonable to conclude that the emergence of that symptom simply means the emergence of osteoporsis. It is possible that bone fractures are related to other diseases, and it is also proabable that this symptom is just a result of aging. Thus, if some people want to argue that osteoporsis really happens for those who constantly consume dairy products, they have to show other symptoms following the disease.

Finally, it should be also questioned that if the dairy products ingested by the participants have enough amount of vitamin D and calcium. It is not rare that such goods usually lack the sufficient amount of nutrients that are usually regarded as the necessary part. Therefore, their quality should be clarified as well.

In conclusion, it is not possible to make a statement that dairy products actually result in osteoporosis unless additional and reliable evidence, such as more research data.