Monarch Books should open a cafe in its store to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened a cafe. Monarch, which has been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer following because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Opening the cafe would clearly attract more customers. The cafe would require relatively little space. Space could be made for the cafe by discontinuing the children's book section, which will likely become less popular given that the last national census indicated a significant decline in the percent of the population who are under age ten.

In this argument the speaker concludes that Monarch Books should open a cafe inside its store to attract more customers. Monarch Books has been functioning since more than twenty years at same location and hence has a large customer following. The author also states that cafe should be opened in the space generated by discontinuing the children's book section because last census states that number of children population is decreasing. However, the argument isproblematic in several critical respects.

First of all, the author asserts that Monarch Books has a large number of customer following and hence it will also attract more customers by opening the cafe. But this assumption is completelt baseless. The customers which are currently relying on Monarch Books are because of its wide selection of books. This doesn't imply they will be attracted towards the cafe opened by Monarch Books. There is also a possibility that the city in which Monarch Books is located might have some well established cafe which may have hegemony over others. Hence people may not prefer the cafe at the Monarch Books.

Secondly, the author ascertains that cafe would require relatively low space but no evidence has been provided about this claim. It is possible that cafe might require significant amount of space. Also, author suggests to discontinue children's book section, which will likely become less popular given that the last national census indicated a significant decline in the percent of the population who are under age ten. This statement has some flaws. Author has not provided when was the last census conducted. Statistics might have changed after the last census has been conducted. However the decline in percent of children population does not prove that there is decrease in number of sales of children's books.

Finally, the author states opening a cafe will help Monarch Books in competing with Regal Books, which has recently opened a cafe. For competing with Regal Books cafe might not be the best of options. Given that Regal Books succeeded, does not confirm the success of Monarch Books.

In sum, the argument is unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument author must prove robust statistical data supporting the argument such as date of last census, details about the sales of children's books, other cafe owners in the city etc.