A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The argument aims to recommend that an increase in the budget of the movie by 10% will result in a quality product and if the budget is not incremented this will result in a definite failure of the movie. This argument is flawed because it is based on several unwarranted assumptions. Primarily it tries to accomplish a direct link between the budget increment and success of the movie. Also, it has statistical flaw and unjustified generalization.

First and foremost the argument assumes that given that advertisement business is wasteful the director being from this industry will squander the movie's budget on retakes. However, this might not be the case because the argument provides no details regarding the work behavior and approach of the director towards film making. There are some bad apples in every industry but it does not mean that the entire basket of apples is rotten. The director might be having good work ethics and he might be an economical film maker. It is not justified to judge his character based on the general conception about the industry. The argument would have been stronger if it had given the information regarding the money spent by the director in his previous ventures or about the approach he wish to follow while making this movie. These evidences are essential in order to justify that the conjecture that the director is notoriously wasteful.

Secondly, even if we assume that the director is wasteful the argument leaves many other questions unanswered. The argument assumes that only 10% increment in the budget will be enough to account for the wastefulness of the director. This might not be true. As there is no data provided by the argument to corroborate this assumption. If the argument had provided us the data such as the total budget of the movie and also the amount of money which is expected to be wasted by the director we would have been in better position to evaluate the argument.

Finally, the argument assumes that the money saved from hiring inexperienced assistant producers and directors is enough to account for the expenditures which will result from overtime of actors and unionized crew. However, this can not be justified without any data regarding the salary of actors ,the crew and the money saved. If the argument had given the information regarding the money saved from making inexperienced hires and the salary of actors the argument would have been more convincing.

Thus in the light of all the aforementioned reasons we can conclude that without the proper and clear data to justify that the increment will be enough to account for the wastefulness of the director. Also,the absence of data regarding money saved by the inexperienced hire and staff salary renders the argument unconvincing.