In order to save a considerable amount of money, Rockingham's century-old town hall should be torn down and replaced by the larger and more energy-efficient building that some citizens have proposed. The old town hall is too small to comfortably accommodate the number of people who are employed by the town. In addition, it is very costly to heat the old hall in winter and cool it in summer. The new, larger building would be more energy efficient, costing less per square foot to heat and cool than the old hall. Furthermore, it would be possible to rent out some of the space in the new building, thereby generating income for the town of Rockingham

The writer of this argument recommends that in order to save a considerable amount of money, Rockingham's century-old town hall should be torn down and replaced by the larger and more energy-efficient building. To support this recommendation, he claims that the new, larger building would be more energy efficient, costing less per square foot to heat and cool than the old hall. Furthermore, it would be possible to rent out some of the space in the new building, thereby generating income for the town of Rockingham. This recommendation is specious on several grounds.

Firstly, the writer recommends that replacing an old building with new one can save a considerable amount of money. It cannot be accepted because firstly, buying a new large place needs a huge amount of money and this replacement takes a huge amounts of money and time and consequently, sharply decreases their turnover. If it is assumed that it is beneficial, on the basis of this argument, some citizens have proposed this idea. Indeed, there is no evidence about their number, social class, job and so on. Maybe 50 persons proposed this ides whose distance to this building is far and it annoys them. To decide about this replacement, firstly the size of this group of citizen and whole citizens must be clear. In addition, maybe these persons, due to several private things such as far distance to this hall and or achieving more benefits, proposed this idea. To accept this recommendation, the idea of all social classes and groups of its citizen must be considered. Indeed, the sample population must be representative of the target population in all terms. So, on the basis of this argument, this proposition is not valid and realistic.

Secondly, although the writer claims that the heating and cooling of old hall in winter and summer is very costly and the new, larger building would be more energy efficient, it cannot be accepted because there is not any information about the heating and cooling systems and the total squares of these buildings in this argument. Maybe in the new building, the high-tech systems will be used which are very expensive and impose extra charge to establish and annual protection. In addition, hiring professional technicians with high salary for its protection is undeniable that can increase its expense. Furthermore, maybe this new heating and cooling system is not appropriate and cannot meet their expectations. Thus, after time, they must replace it with older one. Clearly, it can impose extra expense. Moreover, if the new building is larger than the old one, without any hesitation, it needs more money for cooling and heating systems for all parts of this building.

Another question about this argument is about renting out some of the space in the new building. On the basis of this argument the old town hall is too small and people who are employed by the town cannot accommodate comfortably. If it is assumed true, renting out some space in the new building can make this problem, again.

In final analysis, it can be stated that this recommendation is based on a number of assumptions which all of them are challengeable and It cannot be accepted provided that all of the above mentioned questions are answered and all weaknesses are removed.