In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do.

In a letter of Parson City's local newspaper, the editor stated that residents of Parson City is more concerned about public school education than Blue City residents. The author has come to this point based on the difference of spending money on public schools which major part come from the taxes of residents. However, without answering some questions this statement will be remained skeptical.

Firstly, is it fair to compare between somethings based on recent events? A single event might not enough for evaluating a situation for every time. Does it indicate all years that Parson city recently spent almost twice as Blue City, both are cities from Trillura region, spent? Whatever, it is possible that the past days, Blue City spent more money than Parson City for its public schools. There might be reason of spending more money recent years as like for solving the problem of classroom shortage, or decorating the old buildings etc. So, if either of these scenarios has merit, the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weaken.

Another question is, is the money Parson city recently spent on public school from the taxes of public? It might be happened it has come from a donation for improving school facilities which is not the money of Parson city residents. May be parson city people spent less money than blue city but this year it becomes more because of donation. For example, every year BRAC, an organization working for developing education in less advance areas, is donating lot of money for improving the educational institutes which are not developed enough. If it is true there is no credit of residents of parson city, they are not placing a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City.

Thirdly, what is the ratio of public schools’ students of Parson city and Blue city? More clearly, do the same amounts of residents mean same amounts of students at public schools? Had the amounts vary from one another, it means more students need more money. Blue city may be having a fewer student on public school, may be there spending is well enough for the students they have. Indeed, if the students at public schools are same in both cities, they value of the money could be different from those cities. A school need more money where the living cost is high than that of lower living cost. So, if the living cost in Parson city differ from Blue city, school’s costing must be different from one another. If the Parson city is more costly than Blue city, then the residents of Parson city must spend a more money than Blue city. It doesn’t matter whether they are concern of public schools’ education or not.

Considering all these probable circumstances, the statement from the prompt is flawed severely. Before concluding, the editor needs to think again about these questions. If the more evidences about the asked questions take the side of Blue city residents than it will be clear the editor is right at his point.