Our work proves to be very successful. In the past three years, each of our five clients has
experienced the fastest growth of sales in their history. Therefore, if your company meets
management problems, do not hesitate to call Sigma, since we are the best management
consulting company.
The argument that Sigma' consultancy is very successful is based on the unprecedented
performance of Sigma's past five clients. The author tried to convey that Sigma's consulting
helped its clients increasing their business volume. While the line of reasoning is somewhat
persuasive, it committed the Insufficient Sample Fallacy and therefore is logically not sound.
First of all, the argument commits the Insufficient Sample Faulty. The author made conclusion
that its clients achieved the greatest increase in sales by illustrating only five of their clients. It is
possible that the majority of their clients did not experience the mentioned growth of sales. So, the
author should address more clients so as to generate the conclusion for its success of consulting
job.
Second, the author made a wrong comparison. When the arguer tried to prove that their clients
performed better than other companies, he committed an even more serious fallacy by comparing
its current performance with historical performance. Rather, the author should compare its clients'
performance with that of other companies.
Finally, the argument potentially assumed that the consultancy is the only factor that determines
the success of its clients. Actually, it may be other factors that constitute to the success of these
five clients. For example, the board of directors just reappointed a new CEO who has proved
successful in his past years of managing career and possess resourceful experience in this kind
of industry. Without eliminating other factors, the argument is not sound. Moreover, even if Sigma
really proves successful to help its clients in regain wonderful sales history, it does not guarantee
its superiority of solving management problems since management is only one of the functions
that a company daily encounter and a consulting company can help to solve.
In sum, the argument is neither sound nor convincing since it overlooks many possibilities that
must be addressed to strengthen its statement. If it included the items described above, it may be
more strong or persuasive.