Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

Here author is trying to correlate the relationship between, time given to weather and local news and the complaints received from viewers and also between local business advertisers and number of viewers.

Author is saying that by devoting more time to national news, number of complaints were mostly related to weather and local news, it may be the case that, even before they were devoting more time to national news, most of the complaints were related to local and weather news. Author was not provided any stats to justify that devoting more time to national news has increased complaints related to national news, may be local people are complaining about local news and weather as they are not interested in local news and are more interested in national news. They are visiting this channel only for viewing national news, because there are other local tv stations to provide local news. Hence, having justifying a correlation between devoting more time to national news and having more complaints about local news without any stats is completely false.

There is no correlation between, no of viewers and local businesses advertisers who have cancelled their advertising contract and decrease in overall revenue. After airing more national news, may be more national level advertisement are coming now which are more than enough to cater to the loss in revenue because of local businesses cancelling their contracts

Also as more time is devoted to national news, there may more viewers now, there is no evidence or stats which tell us that number of viewers has been decreased. It may be the case that overall viewers and revenue has increase in-spite of local business cancelling their contracts.

Decision of going back to old way of devoting more time to local news should be based upon the following stats: number of viewers of the news in comparison to number of viewers previously. Total revenue instead which takes into account of local as well as advertisement coming from national level. Local revenue loss may be very small in comparison to total revenue increase because of more airing on national news. Also, going thoroughly through what local people are complaining about, may be they are not complaining about reduced time that is devoted to local news and weather, may be they are complaining about quality of news and too much segregation of local news. Like, local news is always about some sports or it is always about publicizing some local business.

Taking into consideration all the above factors will help in taking more prudent decision.