"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The manager asserts that to avoid losing any further advertising revenues and to draw more viewers to their late-night news program, they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. To substantiate his assertion, the manager mentions most of the complaints from viewers were concerned with their stations' reportage of weather and local news. Furthermore, he argues that the local businesses used to advertise their program have just canceled their advertising contracts. At first glimpse, this memorandum may seems plausible, but with deep analysis, there are some logical fallacies existing in the memorandum, which makes it quite unsound.

In the first place, the manager avers an unstated assumption that most of the complaints were concerned with their station’s coverage of weather and local news in their late-night news program. The memorandum never mentions what programs these complaints are concerned with. It is highly possible that the complaints were concerned with their station’s weather and local news in their noon news program. Without eliminating this possibility, the complaints of viewers surely can't be the reason to restore the time devoted to weather and local news.

Even if their complaints were about their late-night news program, that doesn't mean the station should restore the time of local and weather news. Maybe the complaints were criticizing their credibility of weather forecast. If this is the case, then what they should do is devoting more to the prediction of future weather rather than to the time.

Secondly, the manager establishes a false cause-effect relationship between the cancel of contracts and less time weather or local news reportage. The manager reaches this conclusion by considering that the reduced time in weather and local news precedes the cancel of contracts. This kind of tenuous evidence is undoubtedly insufficient, however, to reach this conclusion. Perhaps that the local businesses deciding to cancel the advertising contracts is because their program is a late-night program, which means their advertisement won't be noticed or watched by many people because most of the audience are sleeping at late night. Unless the manager could provide the reasons argued by the local business itself, it is ridiculous to make such a reckless conclusion.

To sum up, I will not be convinced by the memorandum until the manager provides more details about the content of the viewers' complaints, pointing out straightforwardly what they are complaining about and local businesses official announcement on the reason why they end up the contracts with the station. With these flaws, the conclusion that the manager makes is completely invalid.