Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The argument in hand states that as the channel shifted their focus from local news and weather to national news, the viewers started complaining and the sponsors cancelled advertising contracts with the news channel. So, in order to get more viewership and revenue, they are proposing to get back and increase local and weather news. However, the argument has many faults, unconvincing with no reasoning backing their claims and has many unsubstantiated assumptions with no evidence.

To start with, the statement is given by the business manager of the television station, whose job is to get more viewership and generate more revenue out of the organisation where he/she works, irrespective of the nature of the organisation. A news channel is more than a revenue making machine. A news channel has greater responsibilities to fulfill than just getting local businesses to advertise and increasing viewership. The business of news should not be related to the quality of the content and not business-minded.

Secondly, the argument only focuses on the change of structure of the late-night news and has no information about the rest of the time and what kind of content is broadcasted at other times. The customers who are complaining or the businesses advertising may have some other concern instead of the late night news. The argument does not provide any insight of the following.

Moreover, the claim made by the business manager has no solid evidence that indicates that changing the type of content will guarantee viewership and revenues. What if it does not? What if the problem is something else and not late-night show? It may also be that business manager has some personal benefit, so he framed this situation. There is no evidence to support this statement.

To conclude, the argument in its current state is not persuasive and convincing and lacks substantial ground to make a cogent case. The author, of the argument needs to provide further evidence to strengthen his/her claim and make his/her argument convincing with more reasons and information and with more clarity.