"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author makes a decision of restoring the time devoted to weather and local news as it was before a year. The author makes this decision with the support of his conclusion that increase in weather and local news time will attract viewers and will help to gain advertising revenues. However, the author makes certain unwarranted assumptions without specific evidence that lead to the deficiencies in the argument.

The author states that the late-night news program has increased the time for national news and decreased the time for weather and local news. The increase and decrease with respect to what? The time devoted to these programs before is not specified. It might be the case that earlier national news were devoted 2 hours and an increase of 30 minutes was done while the weather and local news were devoted 4 hours and 1 hour was decreased. If this was the case, weather and local news would have still been given a more coverage. The 'increase' and 'decrease' should be specified in amount and the earlier devoted time should be specified to ensure the veracity of the argument.

The author's second contention is that most of the complaints received by the television station were in concern about the weather and local news. The author uses the word 'most' to indicate a large amount but it is vague. The number of complaints received and the number of subscribers will give a clear ratio and indicate the amount of people concerned about the weather and local news. The author does not give any specific details about the 'concern' in the complaints. This concern may be regarding the quality of the news and might not be essentially regarding the time devoted. Unless the concern is clearly expressed, the author's statement cannot be regarded cogent.

Additionally, it is stated that the local businesses have cancelled the advertising contracts with the channel. The author has not explained the exact reason for local businesses cancelling the contracts. It might be that the local businesses can no more afford advertising on a large scale. Also, it might be that they find no significant increase in their profits after adverting in late-night programs and decide to cancel. There can be different reasons and it will not be apt to assume that the reason for their cancelling is due to less time devoted to weather and local news.

The author makes several assumptions and unless specific evidence supporting the claims is not provided, the recommendation should not be taken seriously. Without substantial evidence, there is no assurance that devoting more time to weather and local news will result in more viewership and attract advertising revenues.