Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The argument provided here is not convincing because of some unaccounted assumptions it presents. Firstly, the reasoning is weakened by the fact that the decision to revert to the former proportions of news casting is based on the increased number of complaints from the viewers about the coverage of local and weather news. The increase in complaints from the viewers may be because of the decline in quality of coverage by the channel or the complaints may have decreased overall.

The term "most of the complaints" is quite vague. If the total number of complaints have decreased than may be the proportion of complaints related to weather forecast have increased. Thus, mentioning exact number of complaints and comparing it with past complaints will help make a better convincing point.

Further the passage states cancellation of advertisement contract, but it fails to mention the exact reason for that incident. The contract may have been cancelled due to better opportunities, like lower costs on some other media channels, or may be due to the decline in economic prosperity of the area. Therefore, to analyze the situation in a better way, focus should be kept on citing exacts reason for cancellation of the contract and the prevailing conditions of the viewers and economy at the time of decision.

Lastly the passage also assumes that restoring the time previously allotted to the weather and local news would increase the number of viewers. The interests of viewers may have changed over time, or we may have a competitor news channel that covers the national news in a much interesting manner. The channel which attracts most viewers has multiple ascendancies over other channels. The way they present the news, how they connect with the public opinion or the promptness with which the news is relayed. Thus, a proper analysis about other external factors should be done and facts like the viewers of other channels, change in trends, increase or decrease of total number of viewers and other factors should be mentioned explicitly to validate the claim. Further the assumption that the business advertisements would increase if we are able to increase the viewers is not a sure affect. So, reasons must be cited for this claim, like company X has promised an advertisement if certain number of viewers are reached.

Hence, we can conclude that the given statement by the TV channel is flawed in different aspects. Further evidences and proofs should be added to make it convincing for the analyst.