Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become

more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day

service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And

since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to

minimize costs and thus maximize profits

The argument is stating that over time, the costs of processing of any stuff for an organization goes down as the organization learns how to do things better and their efficiency increases with time. Argument is based upon the example of color film processing industry. Based upon color film processing, it is stated that Olympic Foods will be able soon minimize its costs and hence maximize its profits.

There are various factors that decides the overall costs of processing, argument should take into consideration all the factors before predicting whether the costs of processing will go down with time or will remain same or whether it will increase. As it is stated that in case of color fill processing there was huge decrease in total processing costs for the 3-by-5 print from 1970 to 1984. This may be because of new innovative technology which resulted in reducing of overall processing costs and not because of experience gained during this time. May be for processing the print in 1970, 90% of the total processing cost was because of labor charges and now in 1984 because of new technology total labor requirement is reduced by 90%, hence reducing the total cost of processing. There may be other factors those have resulted in reduction of the total processing cost. May in 1984, total wastage that resulted during the processing is reduced because of new innovation not because of experience and hence resulting in reducing the total processing cost. It is stated that for Olympics foods, because of their long experience, they will be able to minimize costs

and this maximize profits. This may not happen, may be by their 25th birthday, cost of labor is increased by tremendous amount and also other cost like that of machinery required for processing will be increased, raw material cost is increased, electricity charges are increased. All these factors will lead to increase in total costs and hence reduced profits.

There may be other factors that may affect to overall profits like increase in market competition which will force Olympic Food to reduce its selling price, hence affecting its overall profits. Olympic food may be able to reduce its total costs of processing but market competition and some natural calamity may affect overall profit for it. By 25th birthday, Olympic food may run some promotion campaign in-order to attract more customers or in-order to retain existing customers, hence affecting its bottom line and its profits. Hence, multitude of factors ranging from increase in labor cost, increased electricity charges, increased cost of raw material, increase in shop rent etc. can affect total profits of Olympic foods.

Reduction in processing cost doesn't guarantee increased profits.