Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become

more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day

service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And

since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to

minimize costs and thus maximize profits

The argument is stating that over time, the costs of processing for an organization goes down as its efficiency increases. Argument is based upon sole example of color film processing industry, where costs of processing decreased with time because the company learnt how to do things better.It is stated that Olympic Foods will be able soon minimize its costs and hence, maximize its profits based upon the above premise.

There are various factors that decides the overall costs of processing, argument should take into consideration all the factors before coming to a strong conclusion and predicting whether the costs of processing will go down with time or whether it will remain same or increase. According to the argument, in case of color fill processing there was huge decrease in total processing costs for 3-by-5 print from 1970 to 1984, Which seems to be a sound premise to come to conclusion that profits for Olympic foods could also be increased. But, innovation could have resulted in reducing overall processing costs and not the experience gained during this time. In 1970, may be 90% of the total processing cost was because of labor charges and now in 1984 innovation resulted in reduced labor requirement, hence, reducing the total costs of processing. If this is the factor, then same innovation can not help Olympic food reduce its cost and thus maximize its profits.

There may be other factors like: new technology may have reduced the total wastage during the film processing, hence reduced total processing cost, therefore profits can not be maximized for Olympic foods. Due to unforeseen circumstances by 25th birthday, me be cost of the labor is increased by tremendous amount for Olympic food and also other cost like machinery required for processing, raw material and electricity charges are also increased. All these factors should also be taken into account when calculating overall profits, which is not solely dependent upon processing costs. Profits depends upon lot of other factors as stated above and all the above factors will lead to reduced profits if selling price is not increased by 25th birthday.

There may be other factors that effects to overall profits like increase in the market competition, which will force the Olympic Food to reduce its selling price, affecting its overall profits, hence make this argument that experience helped film processing reduce total costs and same will work for the Olympic foods completely illogical. Olympic food could be able to reduce its total costs of processing but market competition and some exigency can affect its overall profit. By 25th birthday, Olympic food may run some promotion campaign in-order to attract more customers or to retain existing customers, affecting its bottom line and its profits. Therefore, multitude of factors ranging from increase in the labor cost, electricity charges, cost of raw material, shop rent etc. can affect total profits. Hence, it can be concluded based upon the analysis and various reasons stated above that reduction in processing cost does not guarantee increased profits and the argument stated precise to come to a sound conclusion.