Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become

more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day

service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And

since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to

minimize costs and thus maximize profits

Author is making an argument that over time, the costs of processing goes down as efficiency increases. It is making a correlation between increase in efficiency, costs of processing and profit. This can be true in some industries, but this is not be always true and lot of other factors play a crucial role. Argument is based upon sole example of color film processing industry, where costs decreased with time because of increase in efficiency. It is stated that Olympic Foods will be able soon minimize its costs and hence, maximize its profits over time as it happened in color film industry.

First of all, foods business is very different from film processing business, author can not directly compare these two without taking into consideration other factors, which I will discuss in the following paragraphs. Overall costs of processing is only one component which decides the profits, there are other components like cost of raw material, labor cost etc. which play a crucial role and can have negative effects on the profits.

According to the argument, there was huge decrease in total processing costs for 3-by-5 print from 1970 to 1984, which seems to be a sound premise to come to conclusion that profits for Olympic foods could also be increased. But, new technology could have resulted in reducing overall processing costs and not the experience gained during this time. In 1970, may be 90% of the total cost was because of labor charges and now in 1984 it is drastically reduced, hence, reduced processing cost. If this is the factor, then same innovation can not help Olympic food reduce its cost and thus maximize its profits. These two are different industries and have completely different requirement, processes and customers.

It may be true that because of experience, total wastage during the film processing is drastically reduced, but food processing industry employees different processes and methods, which may or may not be help both the industries. Nowadays, people are becoming more and more aware of their health and are avoiding outside food, this can force food business to spend more money on promotional campaigns or making their food look more healthy and nutritious, which will decrease overall profits.

Other factors like increase in labor cost, machinery cost, raw material and electricity charges could effect the profits over time. All these factors should also be taken into account when calculating overall profits, which is not solely dependent upon processing costs. Profits depends upon lot of other factors as stated above and all the above factors will lead to reduced profits. Tourism is increasing over time, hence demands for film, which may have helped film processing industry streamline its processes and take advantage of scale to reduce its processing cost, whereas for food industry, people are propagandizing negative effects of outside food, which will be very bad for Olympic food as its sale may decrease over time.

Market competition can also have negative effects on profits. Which will force the Olympic Food to reduce its selling price, affecting its overall profits, hence making this argument that experience helped film business reduce total costs and same will work for the Olympic foods seems completely illogical. It could be able to reduce its total costs of processing but some exigency can affect its overall profit. Therefore, multitude of factors ranging from increase in the labor cost, electricity charges, cost of input material, shop rent etc. can affect total profits. Hence, it can be concluded based upon the analysis and various reasons stated above that reduction in processing cost does not guarantee increased profits and the argument stated fails to provide a sound reason to come to a conclusion and all the its better to compare two businesses of same type instead of comparing apples with oranges.