Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become

more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day

service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And

since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to

minimize costs and thus maximize profits

In the argument, author is stating a correlation between increased efficiency, costs of processing and profit. This can be true in some scenarios, but this is not always true and lot of other factors can play a crucial role. Argument is based upon sole example of color film industry, where costs decreased with time because of increase in efficiency. It is stated that Olympic Foods will be able soon minimize its costs and hence, maximize its profits over time as it happened in film industry.

First of all, food business is very different from film processing business, author can not directly compare these two without taking into consideration other factors, which I will discuss in the following paragraphs. Overall processing cost is only one component which decides the profits, there are other components like cost of raw material, labor etc. which play a crucial role and can have negative effects on it.

According to the argument, there was huge decrease in costs for 3-by-5 print from 1970 to 1984, which seems to be a sound premise to come to conclusion that same will happen for Olympic foods. But, new technology could be the reason, not the experience. In 1970, may be 90% of the total expenditure was because of labor charges and now in 1984 it is drastically reduced, hence, the stated reduction. If this is the factor, then same innovation can not help Olympic food. These two are different scenarios and have completely different requirements, processes and customers.

It may be true that because of experience, total wastage during the film processing is drastically reduced, but food processing industry employees different processes and methods, which may or may not help both the industries. Nowadays, people are becoming more aware of their health and are avoiding outside junk food, this can force them to spend more money on promotional campaigns or making their products look more healthy and nutritious, which will decrease overall profits.

Other factors like increase in cost of labor, machinery, raw material and electricity could affect the profits over time. All these factors should also be taken into account when calculating it, which is not solely dependent upon processing costs. Tourism is increasing over time, hence demands for film, which may have helped it streamline its processes and take advantage of scale to reduce its costs, whereas for food industry, people are propagandizing negative effects of outside food, which will be very bad for it and its net sales may decrease over time.

Market competition can also have detrimental effects on profits, It can force businesses to reduce their selling price, affecting their overall profits, hence relating it solely to experience will not work for the Olympic foods. It could be able to reduce its total costs of processing but some exigency can always foul play. Therefore, multitude of factors ranging from increased cost of labor, electricity, input material, building etc. can affect total margins. Hence, it can be concluded based upon the analysis and various reasons stated above that reduction in processing cost does not guarantee increased profits and the argument stated fails to provide a sound reason to come to a conclusion and its better to compare two businesses of same type instead of comparing apples with oranges.