Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become

more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day

service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And

since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to

minimize costs and thus maximize profits

Author is making an argument that with time, processing cost decreases as efficiency increases. This can be true in some scenarios, but this is not always true and lot of other factors can play a crucial role. Author has stated example of a film processing industry to support his claim. He claimed that the Olympic Foods will be able soon cut its costs and maximize its profits over time.

Food business and the film processing business are completely different to equate. Author can not compare these two without taking into consideration other factors mentioned below. Processing cost accompanied with cost of raw material, labor etc. decides the profitability.

For 3-by-5 print decrease could be because of new technology, not the experience. Labor required could have decreased because of innovation which reduced the costs of processing. If this is the factor, then same innovation can not help Olympic food. These two are different scenarios and have completely different requirements, processes and customers.

Experience gained could have reduced total wastage during the film processing. Food processing industry employees different processes which are different from film industry. Nowadays, people are becoming more aware of their health and are avoiding outside junk food. This can force food industry to spend more money on promotional campaigns to make their products look more healthy and nutritious, which will decrease profits.

Profits could also reduced by increase in cost of labor, machinery, raw material and electricity over time. Profit is not only dependent upon processing costs. Demands for film because of tourism could have helped film processing streamline its processes and take advantage of scale to reduce its costs. Whereas for the food industry, people are propagandizing negative effects of outside food, which will be bad for it and its net sales may decrease over time.

Market competition also effects profits, it can force businesses to reduce their selling price affecting their profits. Thus, relating it to experience will not work for the Olympic foods. It could be able to reduce its total costs of processing but some exigency can always foul play. Thus, multitude of factors mentioned above play extremely crucial role and can affect total margins. So, it can be concluded based upon the analysis and various reasons stated above that reduction in processing cost does not guarantee increased profits. The argument stated fails to provide a sound reason to come to a conclusion and its better to compare two businesses of same type.