Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become

more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day

service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And

since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to

minimize costs and thus maximize profits

Author is making an argument that with time, the costs of processing decreases as efficiency increases. This can be true in some scenarios but this is not always true, as a lot of other factors can play a crucial role. Author has stated the example of a film processing industry to support his claim. He claimed that the Olympic Foods will be able soon cut its costs and maximize its profits over time.

Food business and the film processing business are completely different to equate. Author can not compare these two without taking into consideration other factors mentioned below. Processing cost accompanied with cost of raw material, labor etc. decides the profitability.

For 3-by-5 print decrease could be because of a new technology, not the experience. Labor required could have decreased because of innovation which reduced the costs of processing. If this is the factor, then same innovation can not help the Olympic food. These two are different scenarios and have completely different requirements, processes and customers. Processing cost for the film processing can be labor intensive compared to food industry.

Experience gained could have reduced total wastage during the film processing. Food processing industry employees different processes which are different from film industry. May be Olympic food is already efficient, thus experience would not help much. People are becoming more aware of their health and are avoiding outside junk food. Increased advertisement expenditure on promotional campaigns to attract customers can also impact profit margins.

Profits could nosedive because of increased machinery, raw material and electricity cost over time. Profit is not only dependent upon processing costs but also on cost of input materials. Film processing could have benefited from increased demand. Which helped it streamline its processes and take advantage of scale to reduce its costs. People are propagandizing negative effects of outside food affecting their net sales and profits.

Businesses could reduce selling price because of the adverse market condition. Thus, relating the profits to experience and the costs of processing is not sound. It could be able to reduce its total costs of processing but some exigency can always foul play. Thus, multitude of factors mentioned above play crucial role and can affect total margins. Reduced processing cost does not guarantee increased profits. Profits depends upon lot of other factors. The argument fails to consider all the factors. To come to a conclusion its better to compare two businesses of same type.