This past winter, 200 students from Waymarsh State College traveled to the state capitol building to protest against

proposed cuts in funding for various state college programs. The other 12,000 Waymarsh students evidently weren’t

so concerned about their education: they either stayed on campus or left for winter break. Since the group who did

not protest is far more numerous, it is more representative of the state’s college students than are the protesters.

Therefore the state legislature need not heed the appeals of the protesting students.

According to the article that appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper, this past winter, 200 students from Waymarsh state college traveled to the state capitol building to protest against the proposed cuts in funding for various state college programs. Article is stating that, as around 12000 students of the same State College didn't participate in the protest, the state legislature need not heed the appeals of the protesting students. Article conclusion is supported by the fact that students who participated in the protest are very less compared to students who did not take part in the protest. In this line of reasoning, articles fails to take into consideration various factors because of which conclusion seems to be dubious.

First of all, article is not telling anything about 200 students who participated in the protest. These 200 students might be representative of various state college programs. Usually, whenever there is a protest, representatives of various programs takes part in the protest instead of every single student from that particular program. It might be the case that it is difficult to arrange for the logistic that is why every student from State College is not taking part in the protest. Hence, some representatives from each program is taking part in the protest. So just rejecting the appeals of the protesting students based on the count is not logical. These students might be representing every other student of the college. So author of the article need to look at the roles of these students before coming to any sound conclusion.

Secondly, every college has a student union. Student union members are chosen to take care of needs of the college students. These 200 students might be members of student union and hence are the only one who are taking part in the protest. So author should also first ask the protesting students whether these students are representing the whole college or these students are protesting only for themselves. Then only, author can substantiate whether state legislature need to heed the appeals of the protesting students or not.

Thirdly, students usually do not have money during college days. It might be the case that because of money constraints only few students are able to come to the capitol building. Hence, author should also ask the students who are not taking part in the protest to know the real reason why they are not taking part in the protest.

Hence, just looking the ratio of student who are protesting and who are not protesting, a sound conclusion cannot be stated. Author needs to look whether these 200 students are representing all the students and why 12000 students are not taking part in the protest. Only by taking care into consideration these factors, author can state a sound conclusion.