"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

In this memo, the business manager of the listener-supported program radio station broadcasting the Folk music recommends restoring the programming of the Folk program to its previous schedule due to an unwelcome from the listeners of the program for the decrease in the folk music and the increase in the Latin and international music. To support this the manager cites the following facts about the program: for the past year, they have changed the programs to gather more listeners, but in recent months they have complains from their long-term supporters of the station; Close scrutiny of each of these facts, however, reveals that none of them lend credible support to the recommendation.

First, the change in the Folk program has started from the past year and complains about the change in the program was revealed a few months ago. The author of the memo has only considered the change in the program as the main cause of the complaints. In fact, there may be other reasons as well to support the current situation. The Folk program has started to play music from Latino and international music where the popularity of the music in whole was low or the music were sung by unknown singers. Thus, the manager cannot base his evidences on just the inclusions of other types of music in the program.

Second, it is mentioned that the long-term supporters of the program had complaints about the change in the content which a couple of assumptions can be derived from it. The many long-term supporters of the program are not necessarily the listeners of the music they can include the sponsors of the program which can due to the decrease of the advertisements had complaints about the change in the program or they can consist the lowest part of the fans of the program; this can be shown by the reason that not all of the listeners of the program send their feedback to the channel which is due to the disinclination to be in contact with the program or not having the communication devices such as phones or the internet to access their portals or email them.

Third, as the program has started the inclusion of playing Latin and international music to its program, it is claimed that the long-term supporters of the program have complained about the change. This case does not really imply that the program has not gained new supporters. The manager has only talked about the complaints and doesn't give additional information on the new fans of the channel. Also, it can be hypothesized that the new and old fans who are satisfied with the current programs of the channel, are not inclined to at least send a comment to the program. In addition, the program can be on air in any region of the world or other countries which listen to that. In this case the number of the listeners has actually increased because international songs are mostly listened all around the world and are not limited to just a couple of regions or countries.

Fourth, it is said that the Folk on the Air program has changed the timing of local music and adding international and Latin music and as a result, a set of complains concerning the change in the programs was received. The Folk program is part of the Air program which the manager of the channel may have changed the whole programming of the channel, not just the Folk. Therefore, complains about the programs cannot be directly noticed by the music program. It can be from the culture program, for instance.

In sum, the recommendation relies on doubtful assumptions that render it unsatisfactory as it says. Therefore, the manager should consider other possibilities of the situation and then making the decision.