“People who use the artificial sweetener aspartame are better off consuming sugar, since aspartame can actually contribute to weight gain rather than weight loss. For example, high levels of aspartame have been shown to trigger a craving for food by depleting the brain of a chemical that registers satiety, or the sense of being full. Furthermore, studies suggest that sugars, if consumed after at least 45 minutes of continuous exercise, actually enhance the body’s ability to burn fat. Consequently, those who drink aspartame-sweetened juices after exercise will also lose this

calorie-burning benefit. Thus it appears that people consuming aspartame rather than sugar are unlikely to achieve their dietary goals.”

The above argument claims that aspartame, the artificial sweetener, causes consumers to gain weight as it was experienced that aspartame, in large amount, induces ruining the chemical which is responsible for being full. Additionally, the experiments propose that consuming the sugar after continued exercise enhances weight loss. Thus, this argument asserts that people who consume aspartame-sweetened drinks are deprived from this advantage of sugar. Consequently, the aspartame trigger to gain weight more than sugar. The conclusion of the argument relies on the assumption for which there is not lucid evidence. Hence, the argument is not convincing and has several loopholes.

First, the author claims that consuming sugar after the continued exercise speeds the weight loss process. It is not feasible to think that the opposite results will work for reverse products. The experiment does not demonstrate the impact of aspartame after continued exercising. The artificial sweetener may show the same result as sugar. The author has simply skipped this line of reasoning. Hence, we can say that although the author's argument might be true, he should have collected more evidence in his favour.

Another point is about the author has mentioned the negative impact of aspartame in big doses and has not provided any sample of consuming the aspartame-sweetened products in normal doses. There is no sufficient evidence to claim that the aspartame triggers obesity. Hence, it can be concluded that this argument is incomplete and deprived of enough study. Therefore, this conclusion is not very convincing

There is one more low point of this argument. According to the conclusion of this argument,

people who prefer artificial sweetener to sugar tend to gain weight more promptly. Nevertheless, the weight of man does depend simply on consumption level of sugar either aspartame. There are plenty of other factors affecting the weight of man: the lifestyle, the consumption degree of fast food or pastry and etc. The sugar consists of a small degree of daily ration of average man. So, the ignorance of other consumed factors questions the consequence of study itself. The author has overlooked all these factors, hence, the argument cannot be concluded on the basis of these statements.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. The author should take into consideration other features that impact the body of humanbeings. Moreover, one should analyse meticulously the results of study and interpret it correctly. Before any decision is made, all these things must be considered. In the end, we can say that this argument needs a detailed study of many other factors and the author should have provided a few proofs and data to establish this relationship