A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that the company should not devote any further resources to the investigation on the bases of the report that says all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food seems plausible at first glance. Though the author have some point, which are based on the unsubstantiated evidentiary support which makes his argument tenuous.

The primary issue lie in the author's premises. The author did not provide any other factors which may have caused the signs of illness. This signs of illness which id found in many pet maybe not just due to the consumption of the food, but it may have include other factors also, like in what the temperature in which food was stored, what kind of pets is majorly suffering for this illness, and much more. All these factors could have been accounted for proper investigation of the product. It may have been possible that the chemical that are used in the food is suitable for the dogs but not suitable for cats.

In addition, author assumes that the chemicals which are used in pet food is stable when mixed with other food product. The author claims that they tested the recalled sample and found out that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food, but fails to examine that those chemicals are approved when used with other chemicals. This might be possible that the food given to the pets are mixed with some other substance, say milk or water, due to which pets have experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness.

However, the author surely have some issues with his argument, but it is not to say that his whole argument is baseless. The claim well have proved to some extend that it is highly unlikely that the pet food have caused any of these sign of illness. But it is not to say that the company should not devote further resources to the investigation of this problem. Still, there are high possibilities that vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness in pet is due to their pet food. In order to be completely sure about the illness they should further continue their investigation.

In conclusion, due to author's irrational premises and various flaw in his assumption, it is not plausible to say that the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation. The author should restructure his premises, fix the flaws in his assumption, and give substantiate reasoning, in order to strengthen his argument.